62149: Acronis Files Cloud: how to transfer files from version 7.5.4 to 7.8+

use Google Translate

Applies to: 

This article provides guidance to customers for manual transfer of files from the 7.5.4  Acronis Files Cloud (also called Files Cloud 1.5, or Files Cloud 7.5.4) to 7.8+ version of Acronis Files Cloud.

Each user needs to first download their existing data from the old version to their computer (using our Desktop client), then upload it to the new Files Cloud version.

Prerequisites

The following data will not be migrated in automated way:

  • Tenant settings (they need to be reconfigured)
  • Groups (there is no support for “groups” in the current Acronis Files Cloud version)
  • Quotas (they need to be re-configured for individual users or tenants)
  • Audit Log entries for the users and tenants (they cannot be re-created and will be lost)
  • Guest users (they cannot be created in the current Files Cloud version by an administrator, they can be re-invited when a user shares a file or folder to an e-mail address that isn’t registered in the user’s tenant)
  • Shared links to files (users need to re-create any links they want to share with people, the addresses will be different)
  • Shared folders (users need to re-share any folders with people they want to share them with)

Creating users in Data Cloud

The Reseller or Support needs to create a new account for the Customer in Acronis Cyber Cloud Platform for the users who migrate their files from one instance to another with File Sync & Share service enabled.

Downloading your existing content

1. Make sure you have enough space on your hard disk for all of your Sync & Share content, uploaded to Files Cloud.

2. Create an empty folder somewhere which will hold your downloaded data (E.g. on your Desktop).

3. Log in Files Cloud 7.5.4 from your browser (use the address of your tenant).

4. From the user menu top right go to Download Acronis Files Cloud Client.

5. From the page that just opened download the Desktop Sync Client for your OS (we support Windows and Mac).

6. Install the Desktop Client (either Acronis Access or Files Cloud client, depending on your current tenant settings).

7. Start it from Applications or from the Start menu.

8. Configure connection to Files Cloud:

  1. Click the icon in the system tray (Windows notifications area) and open Preferences.
  2. Browse to the folder to select the Acronis Access Folder (from 2.).
  3. Specify Server URL to your tenant URL (from 3.)
  4. Specify your username and password.
  5. Click OK.

9.Wait for your data to get fully downloaded. While downloading you will have a floating notification above the tray bar. After the download the Preferences window will say "Status: Up to date":

Uninstall the old Desktop client

If you are using the Acronis Access (and not the Files Cloud) Desktop client you should uninstall it from Add or remove programs (Control Panel -> Applications & Features in older Windows versions). This will not delete your data.

Uploading the content to Data Cloud

1. Log in to Acronis Files Cloud (current version) from your browser (use https://cloud.acronis.com). You need a new account created by your reseller or by Support (part Creating users in Data Cloud):

2. Select Sync & Share if the account has multiple services activated (e.g. Sync & Share, Backup, Notary etc.).

3. From the user menu top right go to Download Acronis Files Cloud Client.

4. A page opens. Download the Desktop Sync Client for your OS. (please note the URL on this page, it says something along the lines of "Your Acronis Files Cloud service name is: eu2-cloud.acronis.com/fc").

5. Install the Desktop Client.

6. Start it from Applications or from the Start menu.

7. Configure connection to Files Cloud:

  1. Click the icon in the system tray (Windows notifications area) and open Preferences.
  2. Browse to the folder to select the Acronis Access Folder (from Downloading your existing content).
  3. Specify Server URL to your tenant URL (from 2.).
  4. Specify your username and password.
  5. Click OK.

8. Wait for the sync process to finish. The client will either have a floating notification above the tray bar, indicating upload, or the tray icon of the Desktop client will be spinning.

  

Uninstall the Desktop client (optional)

If you do not want to use the Files Cloud Desktop client you can uninstall it at this point. This will not delete any of the transferred data.

 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
9 + 8 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.