62010: Acronis True Image: how to delete backups in Acronis Cloud and free up Cloud storage space

Introduction

This articles describes how to free up storage space in Acronis Cloud by deleting backups, their old versions and prevent reaching the quota limit again.

The option to delete individual files and folders from backups in Acronis Cloud has been removed because they would be re-uploaded on the next backup run, consuming your time, Internet traffic and occupying storage in Acronis Cloud again.

Solution

There are several ways to regain storage space in the Acronis Cloud, which you can see down below. Please note that if you enable more than one criteria, backups will be deleted according to the more "restrictive" condition: e.g. if you run backups daily, and select Store no more than 2 recent file versions as well as Delete versions that are older than 1 month, then only backups from 2 last days will be kept.

Delete old backup versions, keep recent backup versions (per backup task operation)

Delete old backup versions, keep recent backup versions (applies to all not password protected backups under your Acronis account)

Delete all backup versions, settings and schedule (per backup task operation)

Delete all backup versions, keep settings and schedule (per backup task operation)

In order to prevent the Cloud storage from filling again, adjust the settings of automatic cleanup (per backup task)

Delete old backup versions, keep recent backup versions (per backup task operation)

By default, Acronis True Image keeps 20 most recent versions of the backup in Acronis Cloud (this number can be changed in backup options). When Acronis Cloud storage becomes full, you can delete old backup versions. Regardless of how this method is employed, one most recent version of the backup will always be kept. To delete all of the backup versions, skip to the third method.

1) Go to Acronis Cloud web application https://www.acronis.com/my/online-backup/webrestore/ and log in using your Acronis account login and password

2) Move the mouse cursor over the backup to clear up backup versions. A "gear" icon will appear. Click on this "gear" icon and select Clean up... from the drop-down menu

3) Specify the condition(s) for backups to delete or keep. You can delete backup versions older than the specified amount of days/months/years and/or you can choose to keep only the desired number of recent backup versions, and delete the rest.

4) After specifying the necessary cleanup parameters, click Clean up now

Back to top

Delete old backup versions, keep recent backup versions (applies to all not password protected backups under your Acronis account)

The previous procedure will clean up backup versions, created by one particular backup task. If you have many of them, consider a global cleanup that would run over all not password-protected backups under your Acronis account. Backups with password will have to be cleaned up one-by-one.

1) Go to Acronis Cloud web application https://www.acronis.com/my/online-backup/webrestore/ and log in using your Acronis account login and password

2) Click on Storage status tab:

3) Click on Clean up space

4) Web restore will show how much space is occupied in the storage and how much space would be cleared with the selected settings. Select whether you want to delete backup versions older than 1 month or older than 1 week and click Clean up now. To customize the number of backups to keep or the time criteria, click "Advanced cleanup" in the bottom left corner of the dialog.

Back to top

Delete all backup versions, settings and schedule

To delete a backup with all of its versions, settings and schedule, launch Acronis True Image, click the down arrow icon next to the backup to delete, and then click Delete.  Then click Yes to confirm the operation.

Back to top

Delete all backup versions, keep settings and schedule

If you want to wipe out all backup versions, but preserve backup settings and schedule, delete the backup via Acronis Cloud web application. Note that as there would be no backup versions after that, the backup task would start uploading everything from scratch to the Cloud, consuming Internet traffic and time.

This can be done via a web browser from any device, even if Acronis True Image is not installed on it.

1) Go to Acronis Cloud web application https://www.acronis.com/my/online-backup/webrestore/ and log in using your Acronis account login and password

2) Move the mouse cursor over the backup that you want to delete. A "gear" icon will appear. Click on this "gear" icon and select Remove from the drop-down menu.

3) Click "Delete" button to confirm the operation

The backup will be gone from Acronis Cloud, but all the settings and schedule will remain in Acronis True Image software application. Next time the backup task starts, it will start uploading the data, selected as backup source, to Acronis Cloud, from scratch. This limits the usage of this method of Acronis Cloud cleanup to a very specific cases, for example, when the backup size is relatively small, or when Acronis True Image software is not installed or not accessible.

Back to top

Adjust the settings of automatic cleanup (per backup task)

To avoid filling the entire Cloud Storage it is recommended to set up automatic Cloud cleanup in backup options so that old versions of the backup are deleted automatically according to the rules that you specify.

1) Select your Cloud backup in the list and click Options

2) In Options, go to Advanced tab -> Acronis Cloud Cleanup

3) Use the Store no more than … recent file versions option to enter a value that limits the maximum number of all versions in the storage.

You can also select the Delete versions that are older than check box and enter a value that limits the maximum age of the older versions. All other versions will be automatically deleted except the most recent versions.

4) Click OK to save changes

Back to top

More information

For instructions on deleting locally stored backups (on external HD, on NAS, etc) see Acronis True Image 2019: How to delete old backups

If you need more Cloud storage, see Acronis True Image: how to purchase more cloud storage

Tags: 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
9 + 10 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.