6177: Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Cleanup Utility

The utility removes Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 and its components from Windows

Description

Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Cleanup Utility is a console application that removes Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 and its components from Windows.

(!) Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Cleanup Utility should be used only in case the product fails to be uninstalled the usual way from Windows Control Panel.

The utility is written using plain commands of command line interpreter (cmd.exe) included in Windows 2000 and higher.

As a precautionary measure, prior to using the Cleanup Utility, we highly recommend that necessary backup measures be taken to preserve Customer data. This can be done using Acronis software or third party software and/or hardware.

The utility removes all Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Windows components locally from the machine. It does not perform remote uninstallation.

Supported products

  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server (except for Acronis Agent for Linux)
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Server for Windows (Standalone)
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Small Business Server Edition
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Workstation
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Workstation (Standalone)
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Virtual Edition (except for Acronis Agent for Linux)

Supported operating systems

  • Windows 2000 Professional
  • Windows 2000 Server
  • Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Windows Server 2003 32/64 bit
  • Windows Server 2008 32/64 bit
  • Windows SBS 2003
  • Windows SBS 2008
  • Windows XP 32/64 bit
  • Windows Vista 32/64 bit
  • Windows 7 32/64 bit

Supported languages

  • All

Installation

The utility does not require installation.

Usage

(!) If there are other Acronis products installed on the machine, they will be affected too and become non-functional.

(!) Running the utility may close all Windows Explorer windows.

(!) The utility removes SQL databases used by Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Management Server.

(!) By default, the utility removes Acronis Secure Zone and leaves the space unallocated. You can then use Windows Disk Management to put the leftover space back to a partition. There is a special parameter to keep Acronis Secure Zone intact - see below.

  1. Download Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Cleanup Utility and unpack it;
  2. Hit Start -> Run, and type in cmd. Browse to the folder you saved the utility to;
  3. Run the utility by issuing one of the following commands:

    • To run the utility with default parameters:

      abr_cleanup.exe --clean

      When run with --clean parameter, it will ask you to confirm if you want to remove the product and its components. It will also ask you to reboot the machine if necessary.

    • To run the utility without user interaction:

      abr_cleanup.exe --clean --quiet

      When run with --clean --quiet parameters, the utility will silently remove the product and its components. It will not ask you for any confirmation and will reboot the machine if necessary.

    • To run the utility keeping Acronis Secure Zone on the system:

      abr_cleanup.exe --clean --keep-asz

    • To run the utility keeping Acronis SnapAPI Drivers on the system:

      abr_cleanup.exe --clean --keep-snapapi

  4. After issuing the command with the necessary parameter(s), the utility will remove all components of the product that it detects on the machine.

(!) After using the Cleanup Utility, it is strongly recommended not to reboot the machine. Go to Start -> Run -> regedit, and verify that there are no snapman*, tdrpman*, timounter strings in the following keys:

  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} -> UpperFilters and LowerFilters
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F} -> UpperFilters and LowerFilters

If there are any, please remove them. Then you may reboot the machine.

More information

See also

To free (revoke) an unused license, you need to:

  1. Run Acronis License Server Management Console;
  2. Click Manage Licenses -> Manage Used Licenses;
  3. Select the licence you want to free and press Revoke Licence:

(!) Please keep in mind the following conditions:

  • Per Acronis license agreement you can only free licenses that you did not use for backup. These are free licenses, or licenses used to install an Agent without backing up;
  • Trial licenses cannot be removed. Once you add full licenses to Acronis License Server, Acronis Agents will use them instead of the trial ones.

 

Operating Systems:

Segments:

Provide feedback on this information

Please use the form below to send us your comments. We read all feedback carefully.

Please note that we cannot individually respond to all comments. We do read, analyze and work to improve our content, products and services based off the feedback we receive. Should you need technical or customer service assistance please use our Contact Support Wizard.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts, we truly value your input.

To protect your privacy, do not include contact information in your feedback.