60195: Acronis True Image 2018: repair, update and clean installations on Windows

Translate to:

Operating Systems:

    This article explains how to update, repair the install of Acronis True Image 2018 and do a clean installation to resolve a problem with the software if need be.

    Getting the installation file

    Get the installation file for Acronis True Image. If you do not have one, open https://account.acronis.com in a web browser, sign into your Acronis account and click Downloads under Acronis True Image section. The Installation file link will point to the latest build of Acronis True Image. Download and run the installation file:

    Running the update/repair installation

    If the build that you currently have installed is older, you will see the Update button. Click it to update to the latest build. All the program files, except settings, get rebuilt, just like during repair installation.

    If the installer has the same version as you currently have installed on the computer, click Repair:

    Reboot the computer after that, even if not prompted by the installer. See if the issue is resolved.

    Clean install

    Sometimes the problem lies not in the program core files, but in the configuration and cache files which are not changed by the repair and update procedures. If the repair installation does not help to resolve the problem, consider running a clean re-installation:

    1. For that, choose the Uninstall option on the screenshot above. The uninstall action will remove both the program itself and its saved/cached settings. Backup files will not be deleted and can be added back to the list of backups and continued later ("Add existing backup" action).
    2. Reboot the computer, even if not prompted by the uninstaller. This will completely unload Acronis True Image drivers and modules from computer memory.
    3. Install the program anew using the same installation file. Acronis True Image can only be installed on C:\

    Note that in 2018 version of Acronis True Image we added a function to export and import backups settings, so that you don't need to re-configure them from scratch upon clean re-installation. However, when the program behaves abnormally and the root cause of the problem is unknown, it is best to reconfigure backup plans anew rather than using the backup settings transfer feature. At the same time, if you have many backup plans and lots of customization, using backup settings transfer may be an option:

    Open the Settings tab, click Save settings to file, then do the clean reinstallation, reboot, install the program anew, click Import settings from file and select the file saved previously. All settings of the backup plans will be imported back into the program.

    Tags: 

    You are reporting a typo in the following text:
    Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
    CAPTCHA
    This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
    7 + 6 =
    Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.