4504: Acronis Backup & Recovery 10: Desynchronization of Tasks in Acronis Management Console, Acronis Management Server, and Acronis Storage Node

use Google Translate

Operating Systems: 

There is no automatic resynchronization of tasks between Acronis Management Console, Acronis Management Server, and Acronis Storage Node if changes to the tasks are made outside of Acronis services

This article applies to:

  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Small Business Server Edition
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Workstation
  • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Virtual Edition

Description

There is no automatic resynchronization of tasks between Acronis Management Console, Acronis Management Server, and Acronis Storage Node if changes to the tasks are made not via Acronis services. This means that if you manually delete a task script via Windows Explorer on the machine with the Acronis Agent, the task will still be shown in the Acronis Management Server (even though it will not be valid). You will have a similar result if you restore a system partition on the machine with the Acronis Agent - since the operation requires a reboot, the task state in the Acronis Management Server will show invalid information.

Sample scenario 1

  1. You have an Acronis Agent registered on Acronis Management Server;
  2. You connect to the Acronis Agent from Acronis Management Console, and create a task to recover the machine's system partition;
  3. The task shows up both in the Acronis Management Console and the Acronis Management Server;
  4. Being still connected to the Acronis Agent from the Acronis Management Console, you run the recovery task;
  5. Since you are restoring a system partition, the operation requires a reboot;
  6. After the recovery operation completes successfully, you connect to the Acronis Management Server. The state of the recovery task stays at 0%:

Sample scenario 2

  1. You have an Acronis Agent registered on Acronis Management Server;
  2. You connect to the Acronis Agent from Acronis Management Console, and create a backup or recovery task;
  3. The task shows up both in the Acronis Management Console and the Acronis Management Server;
  4. On the machine with the Acronis Agent you browse via Windows Explorer to where the task scripts are stored and delete them:
      For example
    • \ProgramData\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\MMS\Policies\
    • \ProgramData\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\MMS\TasksStorage\
  5. The tasks disappear from the Acronis Management Console connected to the Acronis Agent. However, the tasks still exist in the Acronis Management Server;
  6. From the Acronis Management Console you connect to the Acronis Management Server and click Tasks;
  7. An attempt to run any of the deleted tasks will result in an error message similar to the following one:

Since there is no automatic resynchronization of tasks when the changes to them are made not via Acronis services, the only way to bring them up to date is to delete the machine with the Acronis Agent from the Acronis Management Server and then add it back.

More information

See also:

Tags: 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
2 + 16 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.