By deleting the ".meta" folder you remove the meta information about the backup
This article applies to:
- Using Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 you back up to a location of your choice (a vault, network share, etc);
- Then you browse to the location and delete the .meta folder from the backup location:
- After deleting the .meta folder, the backup's meta information is lost. As a result, you will have the following situation:
- You cannot append an incremental or differential backup to the one that's missing the .meta folder. Instead a full backup will be created;
- A new backup in the folder may have an unusual name. E.g, RecreatedArchive_D68A57AA-E2A3-4C34-174-C2BC89957D72_2009_08_21_14_47_53_625F.TIB;
- Validation of the archive may fail.
The .meta folder contains meta-information on the backups in the same folder.
It is not recommended to delete the .meta folder.
For information on how to create archives without meta information see Acronis Backup & Recovery 10: Simplified Archive Naming.