39911: Why do some of my folders within an Acronis Files Connect volume and/or the volumes themselves appear locked from OS X 10.4.6 (and higher) clients?

Question:

Why do some of my folders within an Acronis Files Connect (formerly ExtremeZ-IP) volume and/or the volumes themselves appear locked from OS 10.4.6 (and higher) clients?

Answer:

In OS X 10.4.6, Apple added support for viewing and modifying the "locked" status of folders over the network. Acronis Files Connect has always reported certain folders as locked to Macintosh clients, but until OS X 10.4.6, the clients never displayed these folders as locked.

Acronis Files Connect maps the Windows "read-only" attribute to the Macintosh "locked" attribute for both files and folders. However, the concept of a "read-only" folder on Windows is not intuitive - a "read-only" folder can be renamed, and have files added or deleted from it. In fact, the "read-only" attribute implies nothing about the ability of users to modify data in that folder - it's used by Windows to mark folders that have customized views (e.g. custom icons).

Locked folders can be unlocked by any Macintosh client by unchecking the "lock" from a Get Info window, which will clear the "read-only" attribute of the folder on Windows. If the Mac client is unable to clear the "lock" from GetInfo, open the Acronis Files Connect administrator > Settings > Security tab and check the "Allow Mac clients to change permissions".

Unlocking can also be performed from the Mac client via the terminal using the "chflags" command with the "nouchg" flag. Folders and volumes can also be unlocked on the Windows server itself through the use of the "attrib" command-line utility (using the "-r" command-line switch). Note that the "read-only" checkbox in Windows Explorer does not accurately reflect the read-only status of the folder, so the "attrib" utility should be used if administrators would like to clear the lock from the server.

Note:

- There is a chance that the activity of Windows users (customizing the folder view) could re-enable the "read-only" attribute, causing the file to appear locked again by Macintosh clients.

- Clearing the lock on the root of an Acronis Files Connect volume (unlocking the volume itself, rather than a subfolder) may require a restart of the Acronis Files Connect service. Unlocking a volume from a Macintosh client will take effect immediately, while clearing the "read-only" attribute from Windows requires that the Acronis Files Connect service be restarted.

Related Article:

 

Tags: 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.