39902: Acronis Files Connect: how to disconnect idle users after a set period of time

Summary:

Acronis Files Connect (formerly ExtremeZ-IP) can be configured to disconnect users after a set period of time. There are 4 registry keys that control the user timeout values within Acronis Files Connect. Enabling timeouts can be especially useful if you are experiencing "ghosted sessions" (a user logged in multiple times generally because their Mac crashed while in the middle of copying a file). Disconnecting these ghosted sessions can solve issues where other users are prevented from logging in because the number of licensed users has been reached or where a file cannot be opened because an old session still has the file open.

Description:

The following registry keys control certain features and behaviors of Acronis Files Connect. The keys listed here are refreshable and take effect when the Refresh Registry button is clicked in the Settings dialog of the Acronis Files Connect Administrator or when the service is started.

TimeoutIdleUsers

Description: Controls whether or not idle users are timed out after some period of time. This key must be set to 1 for the following two keys to have any effect. Default: Off Refreshable: Yes

IdleTimeoutOpenForks

Description: If idle users are supposed to be timed out (see TimeoutIdleUsers Registry key above), this controls the amount of time Acronis Files Connect will wait before disconnecting an idle user with open forks (Macintosh files are composed of a resource fork and a data fork and each can be opened independently). Because users that are disconnected could potentially lose data this key should not be used if you have many users who leave files open when they are not actively working on them. Setting this to 0 will prevent idle users with open forks from being timed out. This value is specified in minutes.
Default: 1440 [24 hours]
Refreshable: Yes

IdleTimeoutNoOpenForks

Description: If idle users are timed out (see TimeoutIdleUsers Registry key above), this controls the amount of time Acronis Files Connect will wait before disconnecting an idle user with no open forks. Setting this to 0 will prevent idle users with no open forks from being timed out. This value is specified in minutes.
Default: 360 [6 hours]
Refreshable: Yes

SleepTimeout

Description: Amount of time (in minutes) before timing out sleeping sessions. This key is not dependent on the TimeoutIdleUsers Registry key.
Default: 1440 [24 hours]
Refreshable: Yes

These keys can be created by following the direction below:

Go to Start>Run>regedit

Navigate through the following folders: \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\ExtremeZ-IP\Parameters4\Refreshable Edit> Create new> DWord Value

Enter the name of the key into the open name slot - See key descriptions below

Doubleclick on the new key and enter the ValueData (e.g. On=1, Off=0, 1440 is the decimal value equivalent to 24 hours, 360 is the decimal value for 6 hours)

Click OK

Return to the Acronis Files Connect administrator and click on the Settings Tab

Click the Refresh Registry button

Note: Incorrect use of these keys can cause problems. For example, if a session currently has open files/forks it is possible that disconnecting the session will corrupt the file. Also if you set the timeout to very low values such as 1 minute, users will be disconnected shortly after they log in and won't be able to do any work.

Tags: 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.