39746: Acronis Files Connect: security permissions on the document change when performing a "Save"

use Google Translate

This article applies to:

  • Acronis Files Connect (formerly ExtremeZ-IP)

 

Symptoms:

When editing a document over the network, the file being saved inherits the permissions of the Temporary Items folder.

 

Steps to Reproduce:

Customers report this can happen to an Acronis Files Connect volume when:

  • Parent directory of an Acronis Files Connect volume resets permissions on all child objects and enables propagation of inheritable permissions
  • Security changes are made to drive letter which is above a Acronis Files Connect volume
  • Permissions are manually changed on the 'Network Trash' folder for a given Acronis Files Connect Volume
  • Permissions are manually changed on the 'Temporary Items' folder for a given Acronis Files Connect Volume

 

Cause:

Certain applications use the 'Network Trash' and 'Temporary Items' folders when performing a 'Save' or 'Save As'. Permission for these folders are not correctly applied when performing a 'Save' or 'Save As'.

 

Fix:

  1. Stop Acronis Files Connect service from the Services Control Panel
  2. For each Acronis Files Connect volume delete the 2 hidden Windows folders:
  3. Temporary Items
  4. Network Trash
  5. Restart Acronis Files Connect (folders above will be recreated)

Tags: