3730: Using Try&Decide in Acronis True Image Home 2010

Also read in:

use Google Translate

With the Try&Decide feature you can run your system in a try mode and then apply the changes or discard them

This article applies to:

  • Acronis True Image Home 2010

Introduction

You can run your system in a special try mode with the Try&Decide feature. In this mode you can try out new applications or experiment with the system while being sure that you can always discard the changes made to the system and revert it back to the state it was just before turning on the Try&Decide mode.

When you turn on the Try&Decide mode, the product activates a special Acronis driver, which starts reading all requests to the protected partition and forwards these to the storage location you have selected.

When the driver detects a write request to the protected partition's file system - that is, when a data block should be written to the hard drive, - it forwards the data block to be written to the storage location. When the driver detects a read request, it checks if there is a data block with the same ID in the storage location. If the same ID is found, the driver forces the system to read the data block from the storage location. If the same ID is not found, the driver allows the system to read from the physical drive.

If you turn off the Try&Decide mode and apply the changes, the product transfers the saved data from the storage location to the protected partition.

If you turn off the Try&Decide mode and discard the changes, the product deactivates the driver, reboots and deletes all the saved data from the storage location.

Things to remember when using the Try&Decide mode:

  • System performance may slow down in the Try&Decide mode. See also Acronis True Image Home 2010 Hardware Requirements;
  • Try&Decide does not track changes in disk partitions. This means that you should not use the Try&Decide mode to try resizing partitions or changing their layout;
  • In the Try&Decide mode, do not run disk defragmentation or disk error checking utilities. This may irreparably corrupt the file system and make the system unbootable;
  • The product will alert you when it runs out of free space in the storage location and it is time to apply or discard the changes. If you disable the alerts in the settings, the product will automatically reboot the system when Try&Decide runs out of free space; all changes will be discarded;
  • In the Try&Decide mode, Acronis Startup Recovery Manager is inaccessible. After you stop the Try&Decide mode, you will need to deactivate and activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager to be able to use it;
  • If there are multiple operating systems and you stop the Try&Decide mode with discarding the changes and rebooting, you will be able to boot only into the operating system that you used to work in the Try&Decide mode. After a second reboot, you will be able to boot other operating systems as well.

Solution

Turning on Try&Decide

  1. Run Acronis True Image Home 2010 and select Try&Decide:

  2. Select the partition(s) you would like to protect by clicking a drive letter next to Protected partitions:

  3. Select the partition(s):

    (!) When choosing to protect more than one partition, you cannot select one of the protected partitions to store virtual changes. In addition, you cannot select an external hard disk drive.

  4. Select the storage where Try&Decide will save the changes by clicking a drive letter next to Storage for virtual changes and selecting a partition:

  5. Additionally, you can set up notifications on the free disk space remaining on the time elapsed since the start of Try&Decide:

    (!) If you disable the free space alert in the settings, the product will automatically reboot the system when Try&Decide runs out of free space; all changes will be discarded.

  6. Click the Try&Decide button to start the try mode:

    (!) If you have Acronis Nonstop Backup running, it will be automatically turned off:

Turning off Try&Decide

  1. Click the Try&Decide button:

    (!) If you had Acronis Nonstop Backup running before the Try&Decide mode was turned on, the product will resume the Acronis Nonstop Backup protection without notifying.

  2. Try&Decide will ask you whether to apply or discard the changes:

    • Apply changes - All the changes will be applied to the system while the system is running. All the data saved to the storage location will be transferred to the protected partition(s) and then deleted from the storage location. This option is slower than applying changes with a reboot as the all the data will be transferred on a live system and will be synchronized with it;
    • Apply changes with reboot - The machine will reboot into a special modified Acronis Linux module; all the data saved to the storage location will be transferred to the protected partition(s) and then deleted from the storage location. This option is faster than applying changes without a reboot as the operation is performed on a live system;
    • Discard changes - The machine will reboot and deactivate the Acronis driver. All data will be deleted from the storage location. This option requires a reboot, since the Acronis driver controlling the read and write requests to the file system cannot be fully deactivated (along with the storage clean-up) on a live system.

More information

See also:

Tags: 

You are reporting a typo in the following text:
Simply click the "Send typo report" button to complete the report. You can also include a comment.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
17 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.