When both backup and restore are performed from Acronis Bootable Media of Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 the "Change SID" option does not actually change the SID
- You create a full backup of your system disk from Acronis Bootable Media (WinPE-based or regular);
- You restore the backup from Acronis Bootable Media. In Advanced view -> Recovery options -> Settings -> Additional settings you flag the Change SID after recovery option;
- After the restore the SID is not changed.
Issue in the product.
This has been fixed. The fix is available in the latest released build of Acronis Backup & Recovery 10. See also Installation of the latest update of an Acronis product.
See also Mark Russinovich's technical blog entry: The Machine SID Duplication Myth. The source machine should be in a workgroup before creating the image, adding the restored machines to a domain will be working without SID change.
Please note, however, that if there is Windows Server Update Services set up in your business network, duplicate SIDs should be avoided.