1631: Acronis OS Selector: Deleting One or Several Operating Systems

use Google Translate

How to delete one or several operating systems from a machine

Introduction

There are cases when you may need to get rid of unwanted operating systems on the machine. To do this, you can use Acronis OS Selector, which is a part of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0.

Solution

After Acronis OS Selector is installed together with Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0, all the operating systems that exist on the machine will be automatically detected and added to the boot menu.

Deleting the shortcut

Using the Delete operation of Acronis OS Selector you can delete any operating system either from the Acronis OS Selector boot menu or from the machine.

If you are intending to delete an operating system shortcut from the Acronis OS Selector boot menu, use the operation Delete:

Right-click on the operating system and select Delete:

(!) Do not tick off the Delete the operating system directories checkbox. This will delete a shortcut to the operating system from the Acronis OS Selector boot menu. The operating system itself will be left intact.

Deleting the entire operating system

If your objective is to delete an operating system from the machine, use the operation Delete and tick off the Delete the operating system directories checkbox in the confirmation dialog window:

  1. Right-click on the operating system and select Properties:

  2. Check Folders:

    (!) These are the folders that will be deleted with the operating system. You can add other folders here or remove the existing ones.

  3. Check Files:

    (!) These are the files that will be deleted with the oeprating system. You can add other folders here or remove the existing ones.

  4. Click OK;

  5. Right-click on the operating system and select Delete:

  6. Tick off the Delete the operating system directories checkbox and click Yes:

This will delete all the operating system's folders and files as detected by Acronis OS Selector and specified at Steps 2 and 3. Thus, the whole operating system will be deleted.

More information

Once an operating system is deleted, it cannot be recovered using Acronis OS Selector. You can either restore it from a backup, if you had one, or install a new one.

For detailed information on how to work with Acronis OS Selector, please refer to Chapter 7 of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 User Guide:

 

Tags: