As a workaround, use option "Consolidate the backup"
This article applies to:
- Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server
- Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server SBS
- Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Virtual Edition
- Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Workstation
- You create a backup plan to create regular incremental or differential backups to a centralized managed vault;
- You set up retention rules and choose the option Retain the backup until all dependent backups become subject to deletion:
- Backup task runs several times. Program GUI shows that backup archives are deleted according to retention rules, but archives remain on disk:
Issue in the product.
If you select the option Retain the backup until all dependent backups become subject to deletion then the archive remains on disk till all dependent archives also violate the retention rules that you set. However, once an archive violates the retention rules, it will not be shown in GUI anymore, even if other archives are dependent on it.
This issue can be safely ignored. When all dependent archives violate the retention rules, the whole chain will be deleted from the disk.
As a workaround, you can use Consolidate the backup option instead. See Acronis Backup & Recovery 10: Retention Rules.
(!) If there are already multiple archives in the vault, Consolidate the backup option will not work with an existing archive. It is recommended to create a new backup task and give archive a different name: this way retention rules with Consolidate the backup will be properly applied to the new backup chain.
If you need to recover data from an archive that does not show in the product GUI but is present on disk, see Acronis Backup & Recovery 10: Manually Exporting an Archive from Central Managed Vault.