You can choose to preserve or not file level security and encryption
This article applies to:
- Acronis True Image Home 2011
File level security settings are available for file and E-mail backup and recovery:
You can specify security settings for backed up files (these settings relate only to file/folder backups):
- Preserve file security settings in backups - selecting this option will preserve all the security properties (permissions assigned to groups or users) of the backup files for further recovery.
By default, files and folders are saved in the backup with their original Windows security settings (i.e. permissions for read, write, execute and so on for each user or user group, set in file Properties -> Security). If you recover a secured file/folder on a computer without the user specified in the permissions, you may not be able to read or modify this file.
To eliminate this kind of issue, you can disable preserving file security settings in backups. Then the recovered files/folders will always inherit the permissions from the folder to which they are recovered (parent folder or disk, if recovered to the root).
Or, you can disable file security settings during recovery, even if they are available in the backup. The result will be the same.
- In backups, store encrypted files in a decrypted state (the preset is disabled) - check the option if there are encrypted files in the backup and you want them to be accessed by any user after recovery. Otherwise, only the user who encrypted the files/folders will be able to read them. Decryption may also be useful if you are going to recover encrypted files on another computer.
If you do not use the encryption feature available in Windows XP, Windows Vista or Windows 7, simply ignore this option. (Files/folders encryption is set in Properties -> General -> Advanced Attributes -> Encrypt contents to secure data).
These options relate only to file/folder backups. In addition, they are unavailable for ZIP backups.